Located at The Custard Factory, in the heart of Digbeth, Birmingham’s Creative Quarter, The Old Library is a truly unique space. The original library first opened as one of Birmingham’s five free libraries in 1866, and it is now the only one still standing. The library’s doors closed to the public in 1940 and remained closed until 1990. Many of the Victorian period features have been recently restored, including vaulted ceilings and iconic arch windows – making the interior light and airy, and flooded with natural daylight.
The Old Library is easily reached by public transport, car, or about 10 minutes walk from Birmingham city centre.
- Nearby Parking
- Wheelchair Access
- Accessible Seating Available